Hillsborough County, FL I-75 Accident Guide
Several thousand car accidents take place all across the state of Florida each year. These accidents are the cause of hundreds of thousands of moderate to serious injuries and thousands of preventable deaths. Crashes on I-75 can include passenger vehicles, trucks, commercial vehicles and any other type of motor vehicle you may see on the road every day.
Our Florida car accident lawyers have decades of experience in handling Florida motor vehicle accident cases. If you were hurt in a Florida car accident, we can explain the laws that apply to your claim and help you understand your options. Give us a call to schedule your free case evaluation today.
How Can I Purchase a Police Crash Report in Hillsborough County, FL?
If you would like to purchase a copy of your police crash report online, you may do so through the Florida Highway Patrol’s Florida Crash Portal using your report number.
Each requested copy of the report will cost $10. There is also an additional $2 fee for every transaction. You can purchase your report using any major credit card like Visa, American Express, MasterCard, and Discover.
After you pay for your Florida Highway Patrol police crash report online, you will be emailed a link through which you can download a zip file that contains the PDF files. Keep in mind that you only have 48 hours from the time of purchase to download your report. If the accident for which you are requesting a report took place less than 10 days prior, your report will not yet be available. This is because law enforcement agencies are given ten days from the day of the accident to write up and submit their report.
How Do I Purchase a Copy of My Police Accident Report In Person?
If you want to purchase a copy of your Florida Highway Patrol car accident report in-person, you will have to go to the station closest to where your accident took place. All Highway Patrol Stations throughout Florida can be located here.
Accident reports can be purchased between Monday and Friday from 7:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. with a valid photo ID such as your driver’s license.
How Do I Request a Copy of My Police Accident Report Through the Mail?
If you plan on purchasing your accident report through the mail, you will need to complete and mail your request and the $10 fee to:
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399
If you do not include the proper payment for the number of copies you requested, your order will not be filled. Your payment should be made via a money order or personal check made out to FLHSMV. Your report should arrive in the post in about four to six weeks.
What Information Do I Need to Get a Copy of My Accident Report?
In order to ensure that you receive the correct report in a timely manner, your request should include:
- Your case number
- The time and date and location of the incident
- The name of at least one of the drivers
While it is possible to get a copy of your crash report without all of these details, having as much of it as possible will expedite the process of finding your report, especially if you do not know your case number.
Our Hillsborough County, FL Interstate 75 car accident lawyers can assist you in getting a copy of your Florida car accident report. We can also give you guidance on whether you have a case and the best way to move forward to seek compensation for your damages. Call us today to schedule a free case review with one of our attorneys.
Exemptions From Public Disclosure
Although accident reports are available to purchase ten or more days after the accident, they are not publicly disclosed for 60 days. Only those physically involved in the accident and other specifically-named parties are permitted to request an accident report according to Florida law during that first two months.
If you illegally disclose any confidential personal details before the 60-day deadline, you could potentially face criminal penalties appropriate for a third-degree felony, so it is vital to comply with all non-disclosure rules.
Any accident reports requested inside of the 60-day window, whether by mail or in person, must have a Sworn Statement to Obtain a Crash Report.
Why is My Florida Highway Patrol Accident Report Important?
The officer who is dispatched to the scene of your car accident is responsible for writing a report that includes their account of the crash and lots of other important details.
Other important police crash report information usually includes:
- The names and insurance information for every driver involved
- The date, time, and location of the crash
- Weather and traffic conditions when the crash occurred
- A description of any property damage
- A description of any injuries or deaths
- Any citations that were issued or arrests that were made
- Other vital details
It is in your best interest to purchase a copy of your accident report as early as possible during the claims process. Although it is not binding on your claim, it could help give a fuller account of what took place during the crash. You may also need the report to help prove liability and support your claim. Also, if there are any mistakes in the report, you need to know as soon as possible so you can request corrections be made to reflect the actual facts of what happened.
Is an Accident Report Required After Every Car Accident?
Nearly every Florida car accident requires an accident report to be filed. According to Florida law, you are legally obligated to report your accident if anyone died or sustained an injury, no matter how minor.
There are other circumstances under which you would need to file a report, such as if a driver was under the influence of alcohol or fled the scene of the crash. If a commercial truck was involved in your collision or a car was so badly damaged it had to be towed, you will also need to file a police report.
What if My Crash Was Fairly Minor?
Although Florida law does permit some minor accidents to go unreported, an experienced I-75 car accident attorney is going to recommend filing a report after any accident, no matter what. That way, should you later find out that you sustained damage to your property or an injury, you will have the report you need in order to file an insurance claim.
When a car accident is referred to a minor, it typically means that the vehicle was not damaged enough to make it undriveable. For instance, a minor car accident could result in a cracked windscreen, tiny dents or scratches, or a broken wing mirror. Even though no one wants their car to be damaged, minor car accidents sometimes result in vehicle repairs and not much else.
What If My Accident Report Has Mistakes In It?
When you get your copy of your accident report, you need to read it in its entirety to ensure that the information it contains, including the officer’s comments, is correct. These reports are full of information, so it is vital to go over each detail very carefully such as your personal details, the descriptions of your injuries, and the damage done to your car.
It is not outside the realm of possibility that the responding officer failed to record certain details properly or neglected to include certain information. You need to review your accident report to make sure that it is as accurate a possible, including:
- The accident time, date, and place
- The spellings of street names is correct
- The names, phone numbers, and addresses of all parties are included and correct
- The driver license information, auto insurance policy numbers, and vehicle identification numbers are included and correct
- The make and model of all involved vehicles is included and correct
- The contact details for any eyewitnesses have been included
- All property damage and injuries have been thoroughly documented
- A list of citations that were issued and to whom should also be included
Our Hillsborough County, FL I-75 Car Accident Lawyers Can Help
Our Hillsborough County, FL car accident lawyers have been protecting the rights of injured clients for decades. If a reckless or negligent driver was liable for your car accident and subsequent injuries, or if you lost a member of your family in a fatal accident, our attorneys can help ensure that your best interests and your right to financial compensation are defended. Contact us online to schedule your free case review today.